iTE initiatives

iTE promote a variety of regular and one off initiatives each year. Details of all current initiatives can be found on this page.

Teacher Excellence Awards

The Institute of Technology Education (iTE) Teacher Excellence Award program was established to identify outstanding technology and engineering teachers who serve as models for their colleagues and who could form a leadership core to affect change in the field.

The iTE Teacher Excellence Award is one of the highest honours given to technology and engineering teachers. This award is presented in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the profession and their students. The iiate Teacher Excellence Award provides public recognition for recipients deemed to possess outstanding qualities in technology and engineering education at the local through to international levels.

See our NEWS page for yearly information on nomination processes and award recipients. 


InTech is an exhibition of outstanding Major Projects produced by HSC Industrial Technology students in NSW. The exhibition covers all HSC Industrial Technology focus areas – Timber Products and Furniture, Automotive, Electronics, Graphics, Metal and Engineering, and Multimedia. This exhibition is also a part of SHAPE conducted by NESA.

For InTech dates, please visit the NESA website: HERE

Or contact our InTech team for more information:
Mark Tyler

Dave Macpherson

Trainee Teacher Scholarships

Each year the iiate awards two scholarships to trainee teachers. The Ruth and Peter Thompson Scholarship for a student at the Australian Catholic University and the Astrid and John Perdriau Scholarship for a student at Southern Cross University. For 2017 the Paul Stewart Scholarship will be awarded to a student at Newcastle University.

To be eligible to apply for this scholarship a student must have completed or be completing study in their 3rd year of their teacher training course with the intention of becoming a teacher of Technology within the areas encompassed by Industrial Arts. Students must have obtained a passing grade in all subjects within the course.